Halal is the word originated from Arabic language and means permissible, allowed and comfortable, according to Islamic regulations. What is prohibited under Islamic regulation called HARAM (forbidden) and MESHBOH (suspicious, as such is prohibited until it is proven that it is permissible (clean) - HALAL). All three terms in the local and international correspondence is usually used in its original form. In addition to the basic meaning (allowed - forbidden) terms HALAL and HARAM in everyday usage took on additional meaning. So the word HALAL is often used with the meanings: to forgive, to give free of charge, to earn a fair etc.
General provisions on HALAL were found in the sources of Islamic teachings and they are consistent in time (half of 7. centuries) and space (in any part of the world where Muslims live). The competent authorities in the field of Shariah (Islamic) law, on the basis of the provisions contained in the Quran (God's revelation) and Sunnah (the instructions and practice of the Prophet Muhammad, continuously monitor the scientific and technological development and relevant Fatwas (Shariah Legal Arrangements) and determine compliance and status of certain forms of behavior, work, objects / products in relation to the Shariah norms and qualify them as permitted, prohibited or indicate other terms that represent a gradation between these two extremes.
Most often quoted verses (verse) from the Quran relating to halal food as follows:
"O people, eat of what is on earth, but only what is permissible (halal) and what is pleasant ..." Qur'an, Al Baqarah, 168
"O believers, eat delicious food that we gave you and be grateful to Allah, that you only worship Him!” Surat al-Baqarah, 172
Apart from these verses the whole range of other verses and Hadiths (sayings of the Prophet), which specify in details and explain what everything is allowed and what is forbidden to Muslims for the use or consumption.